The Audrey Roster…Friday Fictioneers.

Playing the organ on a frosty Sunday morning, Audrey sat the bulky hymnal on the front seat of her battered Toyota Corolla, and struggled to get the key in the ignition. Her eyesight wasn’t what it used to be. Although her vision was patchy, the Church was only two blocks away. She could get there blindfolded.

“Mrs Ledger, can I give you a lift?”

“No, thank you love,” she smiled. She’d heard about the Audrey roster. Next they’d be calling her son. She’d burned her bra in the 70s. No one was confiscating her car keys.

Not even the Police.

……….

Friday fictioneers is a weekly challenge set by Rochelle Wisoff Fields to write a 100-word story in response to a photo prompt. You can find other stories here.

PHOTO PROMPT © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

 

21 thoughts on “The Audrey Roster…Friday Fictioneers.

  1. michael1148humphris

    Her frustration came across, aging does not destroy real determination.

  2. k rawson

    Got a chuckle out of her determination but yeah, I have to agree with other commenters that she won’t keep those keys much longer.

  3. Rowena Post author

    My Mum always played the organ for Church growing up and she was running late one morning and was pulled over for speeding. Mum bless her, held up her huge organists hymnal and said she was playing for Church and they let her off. That must’ve been almost 40 years ago now. That doesn’t happen anymore.

  4. Rowena Post author

    Oh yes! My husband’s elderly aunt was adamant she wasn’t going to a nursing home: “you’ll have to carry me out of here in a box.” Unfortunately, she suffered a massive stroke, which wasn’t massive enough and there was no alternative. It still doesn’t sit well with me.

  5. Rowena Post author

    Too true!
    I had to take my son to Emergency this afternoon and he didn’t want to go and had a meltdown in the car. It was terrifying and yet I was surprisingly grounded. I was doing what I had to do. I think he was freaking out about it all, but so far so good.

  6. Life Lessons of a Dog Lover

    Oh dear, she really should reread Proverbs 16:18 “Pride goes before destruction and haughty spirit before stumbling”. Great writing I enjoyed your story.

  7. Rowena Post author

    That’s a great Proverb. Thanks very much for your encouraging feedback. I know a few Audreys so she’s very familiar to me and my Mum plays the organ/piano for Church.

  8. Rowena Post author

    Thanks. There seems to be something going on, and I think it’s going to be a tricky thing to unravel. It might not be much but I still want to understand what’s going on and I guess it also concerns me that he could have an accident or something while we’re in this diagnostic phase and would love to put him in a safe bubble. Actually, as a 13 year old, a permanent bubble would be ideal in so many ways, even though I know it would ultimately be detrimental.

Leave a Reply

