Dipping My Toe in Yoga.

After all my struggles and contortions trying to put up the clothes horse yesterday, I wondered whether trying yoga was really such a good idea. Indeed, I couldn’t help wondering whether I’d end up in Emergency, tied up in myself like a knotted pretzel.

Take it from me, I’m NOT catastrophizing. I have strings of medical reports to prove it.

Yet, there’s this annoying inner voice determined to overcome all of that: “Rowena, get a grip! Disaster is NOT waiting for you around every corner. You can do it. You are capable. You have overcome numerous hurdles before with Olympic strength and endurance. You can do anything you set your mind to. This may be more than good for you. You might actually enjoy it.”

This voice and I aren’t always on the best of terms, and more than once, we’ve exchanged stern words.

A) Don’t you know I’m too stressed to relax?

B) Can’t you see I’m disabled? How can I do yoga when I can barely walk down a footpath without tripping over?

C) I’m sure there are a whole heap of reasons why I shouldn’t do yoga. I just can’t quite remember them now.

Well, the benefit of this particular yoga class, was that it’s being run by an occupational therapist. Moreover, it was recommended by my physio and a few of her other clients were going, That meant I’d be in safe hands, and I’d also be meeting people in a similar boat. That could also be really fantastic… a whole new social, exercise and potentially coffee group.

So, despite the rain, off I went.

And…I loved it…especially the last 15 minutes when we lay on our mats with a lavender eye mask on and a blanket over me, doing my deep breathing. I felt such a strong sense of well-being. It washed over me like a warm wave of kindness and I’d received a much needed inner hug.

Meanwhile, even my toes got stretched and that’s a good thing.

Have you launched out and tried something new lately? Or, is there something you’ve been putting off? Why not have a go?!!

Hope you all have a fabulous weekend.

xx Rowena

18 thoughts on “Dipping My Toe in Yoga.

  1. my one life. today

    I also struggle to persuade my lazy inner self to do some yoga, even though I know perfectly well that it would do me good. I sure love the inner hug feeling afterwards that you describe. Helps, you don’t get that without persuading yourself first. 🙂

  2. Jim

    it sounds interesting. write some more on this and who knows you just be the thing that pushes me to it.

  3. annabellefranklinauthor

    Millie and I were getting in a bit of a rut, so we’re starting something new this week – she’s going to be a therapy dog! On Thursday we’re going to Swansea Uni so Millie and her sighthound friends can help calm stressed students who are doing exams. We’ll also be visiting people in care homes. This is definitely out of my comfort zone as I’m shy around people, but I’m sure Millie won’t have a problem with it!
    Like you, I love the relaxation at the end of a yoga class – it’s the best bit. 🙂

  4. Nancy

    So glad you gave it a try. My yoga work outs help me past that achey middle age feeling I have each day. It’s hard to feel too decrepit if your able to touch your toes and balance on one foot! (Of course some days that is easier than others!)

  5. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Nancy. I feel like I’ve stepped into a new community by taking up yoga, which already seems to be the case.
    I’m still working on the one foot bit. I’ve attempted pirouettes in dance a few times. Still working on that too.
    Hope you have a great week and manage to stand on top of the world…on one foot.
    xx Rowena

  6. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Monika. I did feel sensational at the end of the class. It was really good to do the class with a teacher who understands my medical issues too. Felt safe. I gather you do yoga?

  7. Rowena Post author

    Annabelle, that’s great Millie is stepping out as a therapy dog and taking you along for the journey with her. I’m sure Millie will break the ice and many of these people would appreciate a good listener and someone taking an interest in them. Surprisingly, being a bit shy can be a good thing because you’re not in their face. I’m sure you’ll both go really well and will make a difference to all you meet. xx Rowena

  8. Rowena Post author

    Will keep you posted, Jim. I encourage you to have a go and find a group which is good to get started with.

  9. Rowena Post author

    Don’t feel too bad to putting it off. It’s taken me at least 8 years to get to a class. My kids used to do swimming lessons and one of the other mums was a yoga instructor and we used to chat through the lessons. Now, if that wasn’t a sign, I don’t know what was. Fortunately, the classes I’m doing are only $10.00 each and about on par with my dance classes. That also helps me get along.

  10. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Amanda. I certainly plan to and could see how the dance classes I’ve been doing made a difference. Every little bit counts.

  11. Rowena Post author

    It’s important to encourage each other and pass the motivation on. Help get a bit of momentum. I sure rely on that myself…a bit of encouragement. I have a fantastic physio and my tap teacher has such a smile that I can almost forget the ache in my legs. I did struggle with a few moves with the yoga but it was quite good and familiar from my dance warm ups.

Leave a Reply

