Weekend Coffee Share 29th May, 2017.

Welcome to Another Monday Afternoon Coffee Share in Australia.

This week, you’ll be thanking your lucky stars you popped round for a visit. That’s because I’ve not only been to visit the Koi Dessert Bar of Masterchef fame, I’ve also made Pumpkin Soup. For me, there’s only one way to make Pumpkin Soup and it has nothing to do with tins. Indeed, tins are heresy.

So, would you like tea, coffee, juice or water and I’ll let you help yourself to a choice of soup or sweets.

How was your week?

Our week had more than the usual ups and downs.

On the upside, I caught the train down to Sydney for a medical appointment and had the afternoon to myself walking around Central Station, through Chippendale and into Surry Hills and Paddington. This area is characterised by 19th Century terrace houses and even though much of it has been renovated and gentrified, there’s still that element of grunge and even though the real estate there is very pricey, the terraces still only have a yard the size of a folded handkerchief. Every time, I go to Surry Hills, there’s something different and this trip, I focused on the striking Autumn leaves, which looked so poised against a deep blue sky.

I arrived back home with the excitement of a few desserts for the family to try. However, that excitement was broken by news that the son of a family friend had died suddenly, leaving behind his wife and three little kids…not to mention his parents who have been friends of my Mum’s since forever. This guy was a year younger than me and being a boy, I never played with him growing up, but he was around. His parents were around a lot. Naturally, that felt like a brick just hit me in the head and I reiterate previous questions about why bad things happen to good people, even though even I’ve reached an uneasy truce with this imponderable conundrum.

Friday afternoon, I rang my 11 year old daughter to tell her that I was stuck in a queue at the supermarket. I was meeting her only metres away and all she needed to do, was turn around to see me. However, she was sobbing when she answered the phone. She’d walked into a pole. Broken her glasses. Cut herself and was at the Medical Centre. This wasn’t the medical centre we usually go to either so she was in a very unfamiliar environment with people she didn’t know, and she can be very shy. Fortunately, the staff were exceptionally kind and another Mum had found her and taken her in. So far so good, except once I appeared, stitching up the cut needed to be addressed. Either they could do it there with only a local anesthetic or she could have it done at the local hospital where they could give her gas. That was a 30 min drive away and a hassle. Fortunately, she was brave and had it done there. Well, neither of us was feeling very brave, but we survived and I took her for an ice cream afterwards. Saturday morning, her eye was so puffed up, that it barely opened. However, she was of to dancing and is on the mend.

I had a huge nap yesterday to de-stress wrapped up in my doona with the electric blanket on.

Well, I’m runnning out of time to post this. So, I’ll head off now.

Hope you’ve had a great week.

This has been another Weekend Coffee Share.

xx Rowena

 

 

7 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share 29th May, 2017.

  1. Rowena Post author

    Thank you very much, James. It was the best pumpkin soup I’ve ever made. I use butternut pumpkin and it was quite sweet. Unfortunately, there wasn’t enough.

  2. trentpmcd

    I’m glad your daughter is on the mend. It’s funny, I read this earlier and the words made sense in my mind, but it wasn’t until you mentioned it again that it really dawned on me what happened. Anyway, I hope both mother and daughter are doing well…

  3. Pamela Morse

    Those photos are lovely. Sorry about the accident your daughter had…sounds freaky.So good that kids heal quickly and just go back to living. Thanks for coffee today.

  4. Rowena Post author

    Yes, that accident was quite freaky but stitches out now and the scar will disappear in her eyebrow. She’s doing really well. Thanks for popping round.
    xx Rowena

  5. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Trent. I have been thinking quite a lot about that tension between being strong and sensitive. I had a male friend who used to say that women wanted men to be strong and sensitive but didn’t realize this was incompatible. I’m obviously fairly sensitive and compassionate and I struggle with being expected to be the rock. No feelings. I tend to do it, but then spring a leak afterwards, which is fine. Your kids need you to be strong. To be their strength at times and you have to put your feelings on hold. However, I also find I need those feelings acknowledged and an outlet for them. I’m not one of those keep calm and carry on types.

Leave a Reply

