Weekend Coffee Share 10th June, 2017.

Welcome to Another Weekend Coffee Share!

Tonight, I’d like to offer you what we Australians call a “rubber duckie”, an umbrella and a good waterproof torch. A rubber duckie? That’s an inflatable boat and if it rains too much more, you might be needing it to reach my place.

Yellow taxi

It’s been a very set week for Mum’s Taxi. 

It’s Saturday night here in Sydney, and I’m now trying to get the stuff I’ve been sorting through back in the cupboard so we can get to bed tonight. I’m making good progress, but it takes so long to sort through everything and even if I could throw more stuff out, we don’t have the available bin space. Indeed, despite taking stuff to the thrift shop. I’ve been doing a second bin run for the last month. While talking about garbage collection sounds as humdrum as it comes, our bin manoevres would make for good TV. You see, the garbage truck goes passed our house and then doubles back to pick up the bins on the other side. So, this allows us to refill our bin and wheel it across the road. This is no casual manoevre either. I have to keep an ear our for the truck and as soon as I hear its approaching rumble, my breathing accelerates and I start getting myself primed. I don’t know whether the truck driver has noticed me hotfooting across the road but I usually wait until the truck’s halfway down the street before I make my move. Desperate times call for desperate measures.

Of course, there’s been the aftermath of the London Attacks this week. Two young Australian women were killed in the attack, and our sympathies goes out to their families, friends and communities. So many Australians have had a stint working in the UK just like these girls, yet we’ve returned home. I only spent a week in London when I was there in 1992, and was living and working in Germany. Yet, I still feel a strong sense of solidarity.

Above: Bush Rescue was set at the Echo Point Lookout at Katoomba in the Blue Mountains, West of Sydney.

This week I’ve written two pieces of flash fiction. For Friday Fictioneers, I wrote: Back to Earth and Bush Rescue for Carrot Ranch. While Friday Fictioneers uses a photo prompt, Carrot Ranch has a text prompt. I’ve found it quite interesting doing both prompts in the same week. I’d probably say that I feel there’s more freedom and a wider scope with the text prompt, because I feel my flash has to link closely to photo to answer the brief. Many of these photos were taken in USA and that has been challenging a few times. I usually give my response an Australian element.

Have you written much flash fiction? How do you find it as a genre? Do you have a preference for text or photo prompts? I’d love to hear your thoughts. 

Anyway, so how has your week been? I hope you’ve had a great one. 

This has been another Weekend Coffee Share hosted by Ally at Nerd in the Brain

xx Rowena

 

14 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share 10th June, 2017.

  1. Midwestern Plant Girl

    I feel your pain with the rain (almost a haiku!) I think we’re over it now, as our temps are to go to ‘scorching’ this weekend.
    It’s very sad with all the terrorist attacks lately. Even tho the US had 911, which killed 10s of thousands, I feel we Americans feel a bit separated from it, as is not happened again over here. False security, I feel. However, we’re also not welcoming a large amount of refugees here. And the ones that do come get located in remote areas.
    I’ve only written one FF piece, and that was a dedication to a fav FF blog I follow. I didn’t have any prompts.
    Have a great weekend and stay dry!

  2. Tails Around the Ranch

    It’s well above the 90’s now here and I’d be happy to take some rain off your hands. Brilliant strategy on the waste bin collection. I have to stack excess in bags until the next week and hope the squirrels I’m warring with don’t rip them to shreds hoping for tasty crumbs from non-compostables. They seem to particularly like the specks of cheese on the bottom of pizza boxes and happily spread chewed up boxes all over the alley. Grr.

  3. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, Trent. Did you see that we have a new member to the Weekend Coffee Share? Midwestern Plants joined in and has dubbed me the “Wonder Woman of Australia”. Who wouldn’t love the sound of that?!! xx Rowena

  4. vernette

    Hello there, Wonder Woman of Australia 🙂 I hope the rain eases up! I am a true blue pluviophile but I’m not sure how much I would like it if it rained that much.

  5. eloisedesousa

    Great to stop and have a coffee with you, even if it is to watch you hot footing it across the street lol! I have a beautiful framed picture of the Blue mountains in my son’s room. Made me smile when I saw your pic. Have a lovely week and I hope the rain dies down.

  6. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    Hi Rowena, Hope you are starting to get some finer weather. So far, touch wood, we have had perfect weather. Not wanting to rub it in though. I had to laugh at your garbage bin strategy. I usually sneak around and fill my neighbours bins. I’ve always thought the collectors would know exactly what number of bins they were collecting. I’ll not do another rubbish day without thinking of your antics. Hope you have a good week.

  7. Rowena Post author

    I think I reached an absolute nadir last week. I has a couple of small bags in the book, which I’d planned to deposit in a street bin, after my tap class. Instead, I noticed a bin for an office and correctly figured it would be half empty and quickly snuck them in there hoping that no one from dance saw me. I cut back on my throwing out this week and have a bootload for the op shop instead. Hope you have a great week too.
    xx Rowena
    PS weather was great today and I took the kids and a friend for a crazy milkshake and we went for a beach walk afterwards. It was fantastic. Where’s Winter?
    xx Ro

  8. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Eloise. I am a little mad. Great to hear you have a framed picture of the Blue mountains in your son’s room. It’s a fantastic place. I made it as far as Kurrajong Heights recently but it’s been some time since I last went to Katoomba and I’m long overdue for a visit.
    Blue skies and a walk today. It was such a treat!
    xx Rowena

  9. Rowena Post author

    Thank you very much for addressing me by my correct title, Vernette. I am just getting used to it, although in so many ways I am a wonder woman as in being a philosophical type and always wondering about things.
    The rain has at least cleared up for the time being and we had stunning blue skies and sunshine today. I was thrilled.
    xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

