Moonlight Sonata…Friday Fictioneers.

Mr Suave was wrapped around Claudia like a snake.

“Beam me up, Scotty,” she coaxed through the moonlight.

That jerk had caught her hook, line and sinker.

Barnie wasn’t happy.

“All brawn. No brains. Bet HE couldn’t fix her hard drive!”

Known on campus as “The Guru”, Claudia had brought in her computer. While Barnie couldn’t talk to women, he could hack into their hard drives. They were an open book. Every day, Barnie thanked God for selfies, although he knew the risks.

That’s how he met Claudia. Knew her inside out.

Now, she was going to know him.


This has been another contribution for Friday Fictioneers hosted by Rochelle Wishoff-Fields. This week’s photo prompt is © Dale Rogerson. You can access the linky Here

xx Rowena

29 thoughts on “Moonlight Sonata…Friday Fictioneers.

  1. Moon

    Intriguing story . I wonder how Claudia will ever know him , in view of his handicap. Also,how will she react when she finds out how he got to “know ” her in the first place.

  2. Rowena Post author

    Thanks. I thought I vamped up creepy several octaves with this and it is quite a modern scenerio of how stalking can start off with a complete stranger via technology.

  3. Rowena Post author

    Hi Moon,
    Reading your comment, this scenario reminded me of the play about Cyrano de Byrgerac by Edmond Rostand. However, where Cyrano is concentionally handsome but inarticulate, I had thought him being ordinary. Although having his being handsome could coverup his creepiness quite well. Claudia could be quite physically attracted to him and even fall in love with him, completely ignorant to his stalking behaviour.

  4. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Colline. If you like, pop back and see how the comments play out in the next couple of days. I’ve started to reply to comments and these have expanded my characterization.
    I think it’s interesting how people post all sorts online or store things on their computers and yet view this as “private”. It doesn’t take much to turn your computer and things like Facebook into an open book.

  5. jellico84

    So true… cyber-stalking is alive and well out here on the net. Had a case of that myself a few years back. They finally caught the person, turned out to be an inlaw.

  6. subroto

    Barnie probably feels his cyber stalking skills even the playing field. All is fair in love and cyber war for him. Great ending to the story too.

  7. Rowena Post author

    Thank you very much. I do wonder if Barnie steps out beyond the screen and acts or continues pursuing women in the shadows.

  8. Clare Hempstead

    I think Claudia and Barney would be very well suited. He just needs to keep the fact that he’s stalked her hard drive hidden. Definitely a creepy take on the prompt!

  9. Dale

    A nerd’s gotta do, what a nerd’s gotta do… maybe it’ll turn out all “You’ve Got Mail” on her and she’ll fall in love with him despite his dishonesty… (what a romantic I am, eh?)

  10. Rowena Post author

    Hi Dale,
    You definitely went with a more romantic plot than the one I had in mind. That siad, once I had the cyrano de Bergerac possibility pointed out to be, the possibility of romance gained traction.
    It’s great not only to read the different takes people have on the prompt, but also the different interpretations of the results. Thanks so much for providing this week’s prompt. Much appreciated.
    Best wishes,
    Rowena

  11. Rowena Post author

    I’m glad you picked up on that. This story really creeped me out and isn’t my usual style. I was lued in by the dark side.
    xx Rowena

  12. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Bjorn. This guy shocked me. I used to be the marketing manager for a local IT company and when I wrote their web site and promotional material, I wrote a lot about needing to protect your data. So, therefore, when your IT technician violates your data, it takes that breach of trust to another level.
    I also wanted to highlight that people need to be careful about where they save personal photos and videos because what they consider “private”, could well be quite public.

Leave a Reply

