Tasmanian Farewell – Friday Fictioneers.

The Spirit of Tasmania was boarding. With two cats perched on the back window of the Ford Laser, their Border Collie in the back, two lifetimes packed in the boot like a Chinese puzzle box, Jane and Dave were economic refugees moving to the Mainland.

Jane popped a couple of sea sickness pills. It was her first time, crossing treacherous Bass Strait. She was sick, before they’d even set sail. Even this massive North Sea Ferry, could become another Titanic.

Yet, with barely a whitecap, they had a perfect sail.

“It’s a sign, she smiled. “We’re making the right move.

…..

This has been another contribution for Friday Fictioneers. PHOTO PROMPT © Ted Strutz

In January this year, our family caught the Spirit of Tasmania from Melbourne to Tasmania return. We were taking the kids down to Tasmania for them to see and experience where Daddy is from. You can read abut our trip here.

My husband is Tasmanian and his family have lived there since as early as 1828. During the late 80s early 90s during a nasty economic recession, Geoff and his then girlfriend left Tasmania bound for the Australian mainland in search of work. The rest of his immediate family had already left.

It’s a bold move to leave everything and everyone you’ve ever known, to move way. Pack everything up, and throw your stability into the wind.

I’ve done the same thing myself a couple of times in my lifetime. It didn’t seem such a big deal at the time, because I always had my parents to go back to. They were my anchor…my foundation and they’ve always called me home. I can’t imagine what it would be like going one way, with no prospect of return, especially moving to an unknown country on the other side of the world like my ancestors have done. I would love to know how they felt. Were there any regrets and where was truly home?

Best wishes,

Rowena

21 thoughts on “Tasmanian Farewell – Friday Fictioneers.

  1. Rowena Post author

    Both people on the Australian Mainland and Tasmania would say there’s a border between the two. Tasmanians are considered inbred on the Mainland and in Tasmania, people in the south think people in the North are inbred. Through researching my husband’s family history, I’ve found out that he’s related to a good proportion of Northern Tasmanians. They didn’t have TV back then and there were big families.

  2. jellico84

    A wonderful story of transition and changes that are felt at the soul depth. I can identify with both the story and yours so very well. 🙂 ❤

  3. Rowena Post author

    I’d often like to have a clone and live multiple lives at once. Although I have enough trouble managing one life, but it at least sounds great in theory.
    xx Rowena

  4. Rowena Post author

    Thank you very much, Jellico. I’m not very good at moving. My husband and I have lived in the one house for 16 years. xx Rowena

  5. jellico84

    In the 23yrs of marriage, we’ve now had to move for the 14th time. Work changes the predominant cause. This last time, though, really hurt as we were thrown to the curb because the Apt. Mgr didn’t like out 10yr old car for not other reason than that it was 10yr old. Grrr… still rankles.

  6. Liz Young

    The scents of home are never forgotten, and an unexpected whiff brings memories flooding back.I left Australia aged 2 and went back on a visit aged 40 – the air in Adelaide tasted familiar.

  7. The Reclining Gentleman

    Here’s hoping she Jane is right in saying it’s a good sign. I iked the optimism in this story and the line “two lifetimes packed in the boot like a Chinese puzzle box” was excellent

  8. Rowena Post author

    Thank you very much. My husband is the one who coined that phrase. Trying to get a family of four away is a packing nightmare, especially if we’re going camping or skiing. The fact I’m in the car isn’t good either and our daughter is about to become a teen and I suspect her bag is about to explode.
    xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

