82 584 18 – Friday Fictioneers.

The numbers were etched onto the back of his eyeballs. Glued to his brain. Black numbers on a sunny yellow background. William was fixated on number plates. He knew no one by name, only their number plate.

“What about the boy?” The detective asked. “Must’ve seen something. Wasn’t he at the scene when his sister went missing?”

“Autistic…non-verbal. Not a hope. Just sits there rocking, banging his head.”

“Shit.”

His mobile rang.

Dinner By Heston? Sorry, babe. Birthday can wait. Missing kid.”

“The mother’s asked for a sketch pad, Boss.”

There’s more than one way to skin a cat.

…..

This has been another contribution to Friday Fictioners hosted by Rochelle Wishoff Fields, where we write up to 100 words to a photo prompt. Click here to go through to the Linky. Photo Prompt © Kent Bonham

xx Rowena

More About Autism Spectrum Disorder.

Autism, or autism spectrum disorder, refers to a range of conditions characterized by challenges with social skills, repetitive behaviors, speech and nonverbal communication, as well as by unique strengths and differences. We now know that there is not one autism but many types, caused by different combinations of genetic and environmental influences.

The term “spectrum” reflects the wide variation in challenges and strengths possessed by each person with autism.

Autism’s most-obvious signs tend to appear between 2 and 3 years of age. In some cases, it can be diagnosed as early as 18 months. Some developmental delays associated with autism can be identified and addressed even earlier. Autism Speaks urges parents with concerns to seek evaluation without delay, as early intervention can improve outcomes. https://www.autismspeaks.org/what-autism

 

27 thoughts on “82 584 18 – Friday Fictioneers.

  1. granonine

    Many autistics have eidetic memories. Combined with amazing eye-hand coordination, they make great sketch artists.

    The verbal and social skill problems used to be categorized as Aspberger’s Syndrome, but that diagnosis is not in the newest diagnostic manual. I have a 17-year-old grandson who was evaluated at age 3; he went to Intermediate Unit preschool for three years. He’s a very bright kid, gets a 4.o gpa, and is finally making some friends. It’s been a delight to watch him grow and mature, especially knowing that not too long ago, Autism was a dead-end diagnosis.

    As you can tell, this is a favorite topic of mine 🙂

    I enjoyed your story very much. Well done.

  2. Rowena Post author

    Thank you SO much for your beautiful feedback, Nan. I can tie myself up in knots at times and I’ve been struggling to get a book up and running. However, these flash fiction prompts work so well for me, which has been very surprising because my writing is usually rather lengthy. I was looking at writing kids books but was constantly cutting back my language and decided to write for adults instead. I will etch your comments in my brain! Many thanks and best wishes,
    Rowena

  3. wmqcolby

    Rowena, this was brilliant. A good take on the prompt. My brother was born with autism (Aspberger’s, higher functioning) and he’s doing well. He’s 46 now, has a decent job and is loved by his work mates. Integrating this element into the story was the brilliant part. Thanks also for the information provided! This has been a part of my life for many decades.

  4. Rowena Post author

    Thank you very much. I have quite a few family members with varying degrees of spectrum. I think of it as being like sprinkles on ice cream. Some people have a few, others quite a lot. As we’ve discussed before, I come from a musical family and although we’ve joked about a fine line between madness and genius, there is an even finer line between genius and the autism spectrum.
    The idea for the number plate but sparked by my own inability to remember number plates. I couldn’t even tell you the number plate on the car we’ve had for a year, or any part of it. We have a luggage pod on top of it and that along with the colour is how I spot it. So, I’d be absolutely useless if they were asking me to recall a number plate.
    Have you had much experience of the sensory processing issues associated with autism spectrum? That’s something which intrigues me for character development and incorporating that querkiness of the senses. So many people have a sense or two which is out of whack. Yet, I don’t read about it in characters other than people like Monk.

  5. Rowena Post author

    It’s funny when that happens, isn’t it? Have you ever done a writing exercise in a group where you each write a line and then fold the paper over the top and then you unravel it like an accordian at the end and read it all out. I’ve done it with writing poetry back at a writer’s group at uni and it was great fun. It would be interesting to put a few of these together into a story and see how it reads.

  6. Rowena Post author

    Thank you, Patrick. I always try to understand what makes people tick. It’s so important in terms of building bridges between people.

  7. wmqcolby

    When my brother was about two was when we discovered it. But, it was so new, we didn’t know anything, so no. I had no experience with the sensory processing. I was just a kid. That was my parents’ responsibility to know that stuff. Yet, it’s good to know now because we know so much more.

  8. Rowena Post author

    I still use the term Asbergers, as I feel there’s a need to distinguish and I would say most people’s understanding of autism is very different from someone with high functioning Asbergers who could well be married, working and just appear quirk. At least, until they get stressed.
    I am quite fascinated by the autism spectrum and it’s close cousin, sensory processing disorder, which creates some fascinating character traits from a writer’s perspective. I have had issues with over-sensitive hearing. However, it’s been so much better since I took up the violin.

  9. Pingback: Weekend Coffee Share 22nd July, 2017. | beyondtheflow

Leave a Reply

