A Walk in Dulwich Park, London.

Tonight, my dog Lady and I went for an extraordinary walk, touching down in Dulwich Park, in South London to catch up with fellow blogger and author, Geoff Le Pard and his furry friend. I even found a cafe and met a few dog walkers to boot. How good is that?!!

This all came about after reading Geoff’s latest post: Milling About…Finding A Home, which talks about how he and his wife found their home in Dulwich Park, South London. I must be a bit low on patience this week, because I decided I’d had enough talk. I wanted to get to London myself> Walk the streets, museums, galleries and park my butt in a cafe. Not in a creepy, cyber-stalking kind of way. It’s just that I’d had enough of looking through the window. I wanted to be there instead.

So, I found a local park with a cafe frequented by mild-mannered local dog walkers. Now, I’m just waiting for Geoff. If I’d got onto this earlier, I could’ve been there in time for the Bloggers’ Bash. BTW, it’s just like me to run late!

However, there’s just one small problem with getting to London.

As you’re probably aware, I live in Greater Sydney, Australia. So, I’m hardly living next door. Moreover, as much as I’ve wanted to visit London and check out Geoff’s haunts, there’s been a small hitch. While they might have sent convicts out to the colonies at Her Magesty’s Pleasure, they’re not footing the bill to send us back. Indeed, I’d probably need to rob a bank to fund my ticket. However, knowing my luck, instead of running off with the loot, I’d pluck this card out of the pack: “Advance to jail. Go directly to jail. Do not collect $200.”

Reg Spiers

Aussies have done outrageous things to overcome the “tyranny of distance”. In the mid-1960s, Australian athlete Reg Spiers found himself stranded in London with no money to buy a plane ticket home. Desperate to get back to Australia in time for his daughter’s birthday, he posted himself home in a wooden crate and travelled as freight. You can read the full story here: The Man Who Posted Himself Home to Australia. It’s great reading.

While Reg might have been given a hero’s welcome, I decided to Keep it Simple, Stupid (the KISS Principle) and let my fingers do the walking. I travelled to London via Google maps. While I know this could be construed as cyberstalking, I picked a park on the map, found a cafe and thought this would be quite appropriate for a cyber coffee catch-up. I even took a photo…just to prove I was there.

As much as I love meeting fantastic people, especially fellow writers from all around the world through blogging, I often lament the ultimate Aussie devil… distance. That as much as our global isolation has made and shaped us as a nation, that I feel like sticking an outboard motor to the bottom of Tasmania and giving us a bit of a nudge North. Travelling to Europe is so expensive when you have kids, mortgage and an auto-immune disease to factor in.

So, while I’m waiting for Geoff, Lady and I went for a walk in the park. There were so many large, leafy trees and I certainly picked out a few oaks. It is Summer in London and while it’s partly-cloudy today, it is 20°C. Humph. Hang on a minute. We’re in the middle of Winter here in freezing conditions rugged up like Eskimos and it’s 16°C here. I’m feeling a bit ripped off. Well, at least, I’m catching up with Geoff and going on one of his many tours of London. So, the weather doesn’t really matter, does it?! After all, nobody goes to London for the weather!!

So, now that I’ve got the hang of Google maps, is there somewhere you’d like me to visit? Wow! This is starting to sound quite exciting…like climbing to the top of Enid Blyton’s Magic Faraway Tree and finding yourself in the midst of a magical land. Where will I be going next?

As for me, I’d like to invite you to walk across the Sydney Harbour Bridge. It really is an amazing experience.

Happy travels.

xx Rowena.

 

 

17 thoughts on “A Walk in Dulwich Park, London.

  1. TanGental

    love it Ro; the cafe has just been refurbished and, while a touch pricey, is lovely. As is the park. We, Dog and me, will sure show you a good time. And wherever next on your Googlejolly? Can’t wait

  2. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Geoff. These Google maps trips really appeal to my warped sense of humour…and my bank balance and the usual troubles most of us have with getting away for any length of time.
    It was actually really nice to find this cafe last night and you sort of realize these are real places, if that makes any sense to you. The same way, that receiving your book in the post and being able to hold it, transformed the image on your blog.
    I was inspired to pop over after walking through Catford a few weeks ago. I know that probably sounds like an off beat place to go, but my English neighbours who lived through the war (the dodgy repairman) used to live their. He was 10 in 1943 and was walking back to school from lunch when a Nazi plane flew low over the streets and shot at him and his mates before bombing Sandhurst Road School : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bombing_of_Sandhurst_Road_School
    It was quite helpful going there online and seeing what the houses looked like.
    That reminds me. I need to get back to them. I’ve been intending to finally inview them about their wartime experiences but the school holidays intervened.
    Hope you have a great day.
    xx Ro

  3. willowdot21

    Hi Ro, willow here, I think it is great that you popped over for virtual coffee with Geoff! An excellent idea and Dulwich is such a lovely place.
    It’s a shame you missed the Bloggers Bash we would of loved to have met you. I have been twice now and can tell you that Geoff and all the committee members are lovely people!
    I understand what you are saying about Australia being so far away and being in the depths of your winter. It seems strange that we are having our summer at the same time!
    I am off to sleep now as it is very late and I have had a long and busy day. I would love to meet you at the Bridge in Sydney! But for now I must sleep. So night for now, great post!

  4. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much, for popping by Willow and you are hopefully having sweet dreams as I type. It turned out a friend of mine used to go to this park and the cafe when they were living in London so the world really is quite small.
    One day, I’m going to make it to the Bloggers’ Bash. I can’t wait!
    xx Rowena

  5. Rowena Post author

    Isn’t it great! I found out today that my friend used it to plan their trip to Tassie. With my lousy sense of direction, it could also be helpful. See where I’m heading before I leave.

  6. Rowena Post author

    Thanks, Monika. I thought I might come and visit you. Is there a favourite park or area you take the dogs? I’ll go and check it out and post something. Am looking forward to it!
    We took Lady to the beach today with my friends and their new dog, who’s about a year old. Their dog, Charlie, went chasing waves andswallowing seawater and ended up coming back here and being sick all over my floor about 4 times. They’ve had Charlie less than a week, and are still getting to know her. Charlie was also off down the beach and hasn’t really bonded yet but despite some spirited runs, she was fairly good.
    The first time we took Rufus the Old English Sheepdog down to the beach, he chased a seagull down the other end of the beach and was gone. My husband went off to retrieve him and was not impressed!

  7. willowdot21

    The world is tiny really in some ways… You will be very welcome if you make it to the Bash. I am waking up late and tired today but at least the sun is shining. Have a good night I guess it is your night 😉

  8. TanGental

    We might do a joint thing. You chose somewhere, imagine a visit and I’ll go there and do a piece on the reality… we will need a name!

  9. Rowena Post author

    I went strolling through Yuma today and found my way to the prison. Funny that. I’m going to do a virtual visit there. So, stay tuned. I’m on my way xx Ro PS I loved the term “Yuman”. That sounds like some kind of syborg being.

  10. New Journey

    I believe they are cyborg…LOL welcome to Yuma, the prison is an amazing site….just poured myself a cup of java, come on in and sit a spell…LOL

Leave a Reply

