Dog Walking in Winter.

Just when I was fully cocooned in my doona and vowing to stay put until Spring, a friend invited me to walk the dogs at the beach. Given the bitter cold, the rational part of my brain was telling me to defer a few months.

However, our friends have a new dog they’d adopted during the week. So, like the cluckiest of grandma’s swooping on the new baby, I was uber keen to meet “the new dog”.

That’s why Lady and I found ourselves braving the elements this morning at a bracing 11°C or 51°F. That’s like putting an Australian into the deep freeze and closing the door. I do not respond well to the cold!

DSC_5812

It was fun walking our dogs along the beach. While it wasn’t their first trip to the beach with their new dog, they’re still finding their feet and paws and getting to know each other and the elements. Dog didn’t disgrace herself too much. Well, at the beach. She loved chasing the waves and biting them. If you have any experience of dogs drinking sea water, you’ll know this didn’t end well. However, we are still mid story and she still had a huge run down the beach to get through. We were concerned that she wouldn’t turn back. After all, she’s still bonding and getting to know her new family and where she belongs.

Meanwhile, Lady was wandering all over the place sniffing in her usual form. I think she disowns me at the beach. I ran into my usual dogwalking friend and filled him in about Bilbo. I hadn’t seen him since Bilbo passed, although he wasn’t surprised by the news. He was still throwing tennis balls for his dogs and usually Bilbo would’ve been barking at him to throw the ball for him too. Bilbo was a great dog but he was utterly obsessed and could be extremely bossy and demanding. Lady is relatively mellow. She doesn’t even bark when we have visitors. This means we’re now needing to get our doorbell fixed. No one could come near our place without Bilbo heralding their arrival. So, he was a fantastic doorbell, even if he was rather over-zealous.

Do you have a favourite local place where you walk your dog? If so, feel free to add a link in the comments. 

xx Rowena

PS It is looking like we could well be minding a border collie x kelpie for a bit. Her owner is trying to find pet friendly accommodation and didn’t want to give her up. After losing Bilbo, I didn’t want her to lose her fur baby. Stay tuned.

 

18 thoughts on “Dog Walking in Winter.

  1. Tails Around the Ranch

    ‘Fostering’ and pet sitting are good ways to fill the void for both you, the kids and Lady. Good luck. As for favorite local walks, we stick to our routine route around the neighborhood. I try to find interesting scents for the dogs and beautiful gardens along the way to keep us all entertained while the steps add up. When I’m visiting my parents, I take a two mile jaunt around her area watching bunnies, quail and listening for the ubiquitous meadow lark trilling its song and looking up at the nearby mountains. So peaceful, so quiet, no inspiring and a real treat. Here’s a link to a post I did after one such visit: https://tailsaroundtheranch.wordpress.com/2015/08/31/good-monday-morning-peeps/

  2. vanbytheriver

    It’s my favorite time to walk, with or without dog. I can’t wait for the temps to drop. As long as you’re dressed for it…it’s okay by me. That beach looks wonderful in any weather.

  3. Rowena Post author

    We are very lucky with our beach. It’s great all year round, although I avoid early mornings in Winter and Midday in Summer. It’s very liberating down there and I love the sound of the waves.

  4. Rowena Post author

    Wow, Sam was certainly in his element there and would’ve appreciated having Elsa to help him out. Lady would’ve been a real asset. She’s had a bit too much experience I suspect.
    Found out the dog will be arriving on Sunday. Her name is Luna and she a 2 year old Border Collie x Kelpie. Somehting tells me I’m going to be getting to the beach more often to exercise the dogs.

  5. trentpmcd

    I like reading posts from people in warmer climates. I’ve walked on the beach when it’s been around 10 F (-12 C). That isn’t bad, except when it’s that cold it is usually very windy. The wind is what hurts…

    Great that you got to take the dogs for a beach walk. Bundle up and enjoy it!

  6. pensitivity101

    Oh Rowena, I sympathise with the friend trying to find pet friendly accommodation. We were so lucky to have so many people help us when Maggie was going through such a bad patch at night on the boat and I came close to rehoming her. We are still together as our friend here loves her to bits and the feeling is mutual.
    Maggie loves to swim, and we used to take her to Hamworthy Park in Poole at least once every day when she was a pup and before we moved away. In Lincolnshire, we’d take her to the woods and we made so many friends. These days it’s round The Avenue at least four times a day, up the High Street a couple of times a week, and everyone knows her. You’re never alone or without a friend whn you’ve got a dog.

  7. merrildsmith

    Hi, Rowena! I was thinking about you last week when my daughter opened a box of crackers. The brand name is 34 Degrees, named for Sydney’s latitude. The crackers are actually made in Colorado, but I guess they’re similar in style to some the people had in Australia–very thin and crispy.
    I’m glad to see you’re doing well. I like the photo of the dogs on the beach. It’s very hot here, though I imagine lovely on the beach. 🙂

  8. Rowena Post author

    Hi Merril,
    So nice to hear you’ve been thinking of me. I’ve been thinking of you and see your name pop up on a few blogs. Do you follow https://tailsaroundtheranch.wordpress.com/? Monika lives in Denver, Colorado. So, you thinking about me also reminded me of her.
    My Mum often buys that style of crispbread to go with cheese and they do have more of a gourmet pitch.
    It’s a difficult time of year for most of us weather wise as we’re all a bit extreme.
    I was thinking of you tonight. I was put onto a book about grieving by and the author is Jewish and referred to the Jewish grieving process. I’m ordeering the book but in the meantime found this very useful article. You will notice a link through to a post she wrote on Facebook and that and the comments were so amazing: https://www.forbes.com/sites/francesbridges/2017/05/27/5-ways-to-build-resilience-from-sheryl-sandberg-and-adam-grants-new-book-option-b/#775838f94115
    I hope things with you are going well.
    Best wishes,
    Ro

  9. merrildsmith

    It’s nice to know you’re thinking of me, too, Rowena. 🙂 I’m just super-busy this summer–two books and contributors who haven’t come through with promised articles. I’m way past deadline on one of the books, and I’ve had to write a few chapters myself. So, I better get off to do that now. 🙂 Wishing you the best!

  10. Rowena Post author

    Good luck with it all, Merril. Sounds like a lot of stress at your end. The publication of a book has often been compared to childbirth and yours seems to be true to form along with some added complications. All the best, Rowena

  11. carruthersrose

    Hi, I’m from WALKIES? Dog walking, good on you braving the cold. I hope you have some more fun adventures.

  12. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much. I had a bit of an unplanned adventure with Lady yesterday when she spotted a dog off the leash when she was getting out of the car and shot off with them down the street like a flash. I got my son out to help but he ran the opposite direction without checking. If someone was watching us, they would’ve been in stitches! We drove through the streets and alleyways and found her sitting at out back gate.
    Thanks for popping round xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

