Dog, that is NOT your bed!

You provide your dog with a comfy dog bed and blankets in the house, the choice of two kennels outside, not to mention a possie lying on the grass in the midday sun and what does she do, she sets up residence on my son’s bed as if she owns the place.

As you’re probably aware, our dog is called Lady. Being a dog, she doesn’t have Google access to nut out the difference between being a “Lady” and being a “Princess” or even, (heaven help us) “THE Queen”. However, there’s no doubt that she firmly believes she’s holds prime real estate in Burke’s Peerage.

Or, maybe, she’s just dyslexic and thinks she’s God.

DSC_5823

Lady is “simply irresistable”.

Knowing the presumptiousness of that dog, I wouldn’t be surprised. She’s definitely working towards world domination. Or, at least, domination of our world.

So, it was that I caught her sleeping on my son’s bed yesterday, and not for the first time either. However, this time I managed to secure photographic proof.

Caught her in the act.

“I don’t really understand that process called reincarnation but if there is such a thing I’d like to come back as my daughter’s dog.”

Leonard Cohen

Dogs are curious characters and I never tire of watching and loving them and forgiving their indiscretions in a way you’d never do for a person. No doubt, that’s the reason they have those huge puppy dog eyes. Master manipulators who fly under the radar, they know it only takes one look to be forgiven…or to receive a snack.

We are but putty in their paws.

Has your dog been up to any mischief or adventures lately? I’m thinking I should turn this into a regular feature…Dob in your dog. 

Hope you’re having a great week.

xx Rowena

PS In case you’re wondering, Lady is a Border Collie x Cavalier. She’s totally black aside from a little patch of white on her chest and on her paws. She has floppy cavalier ears and very silky cavalier fur. She’s a very pretty dog.

PPS: Lady has requested an upgrade after seeing this French mansion: https://wikr.com/rsyt-auyt-man-stumbled-upon-abandoned-mansion-countryside-blown-away-saw-inside/?utm_source=desc&utm_medium=bestbot1

11 thoughts on “Dog, that is NOT your bed!

  1. Tails Around the Ranch

    Ha…with two clever poodles, that’s just a rhetorical question, right? Elsa has discovered standing on her hind legs often will be rewarded with great foodables. Rotten counter surfer! And now she’s corrupting Sam into participating. They both seem to enjoy pinching a bite of pizza as I’m fetching the cutter from the drawer behind me. #ohthatdog 😁 Last week’s post: https://tailsaroundtheranch.wordpress.com/2017/07/17/monday-mischief-3/ for details. See Lady, trying to find a spot to feel comfort. An extra (albeit, digital) ear scratch for the Queen.

  2. Gemma

    Lady is gorgeous. We are currently looking after our friend’s king charles cavalier. Our dachshund is delighted x

  3. TanGental

    I knew I thought Leonard Cohen a loon but coming back as a dog is NOT my idea of fun… mostly it’s cool but then you remember they say hello by sniffing arses… that’s a no-no I’m afraid.

  4. Rowena Post author

    I love that fur-nature, Ilex. That’s so funny. Too funny to share with my husband who doesn’t let the dogs up on the chairs unless they’re on a lap.

  5. Rowena Post author

    Hey, Gemma. What’s the cavalier like? Ours is uber friendly and I’ve never seen a dog wag it’s tail so much and her whole body quivers. I’m thinking of ways of using that to help people. Becoming a therapy dog, might involve jumping through too many hoops but I’ve noticed how she cheers people up just walking down the street. xx Rowena

  6. Rowena Post author

    Your place sounds like our place over the years. Rufus, the Old English Sheepdog, had a few unexpected qualities as well. We still had our first BC Zorro when he first arrived as a 5 year old rescue. I think there might have been a 10 cm height difference between them. However, that proved quite a difference when it came to raiding the bench, as we call it in Australia. We have high benchtops in our kitchen and Rufus had no trouble reaching bags of food, even from the back of the bench, which he’d swallow whole and the lot would emerge out the other end. We also had to lock up his food as he gourge himself until he threw up…a canine bulemic.
    Lady is also a food thief and was also teaching Bilbo steal food. Our original plan was for Bilbo to teach the new dog the house rules. As it turns out, cavaliers can be quite independent and difficult to train. I’ll head over and read your post. Hope you’re having a great week. xx Ro

  7. Tails Around the Ranch

    Years ago I had a dog who chewed EVERYTHING (ate through the coaxial cable twice! among other things) so I thought getting another dog might provide enough stimulation during the day while I was at work. Imagine my surprise when I came home unexpectedly and the two of them were going hog wild stripping bark off a tree! So much for setting a good example. 😇

  8. Gemma

    She is gorgeous. Super friendly and exactly like yours; her whole body shakes when she wags her tail! Awww they would definitely make a good therapy dog. She loves being around people and is super cuddly x

Leave a Reply

