Road Kill Cafe…Thursday Doors.

Welcome to Another Thursday Doors.

At the risk of repeating myself, I’ve returned to Lower Crackpot, Tazmazia again and this week we’re off to the Road Kill Cafe. While this might appear to be in bad taste, it’s actually making an important environmental statement. On average, 32 animals are killed every hour on Tasmanian roads. Indeed, ‘More animals die per kilometre on Tasmanian Roads than anywhere else in the world,’ says Don Knowler, author of Riding the Devil’s Highway. ‘The scale of road kill in Tasmania is just colossal,’ he says, adding that almost 300,000 animals are killed a year, with some groups putting the figure as high as half a million. Another problem is secondary road kill. Animals like the very, endangered Tasmanian Devil, are run over while feeding on the road.

Road Kill Cookbook

We saw this for sale while we were in Tassie.

Addressing serious issues through humour is surprisingly effective, and much better than pointing the finger. Indeed, the message seems to filter in through the cracks, as humour allows us to approach threatening subjects in a non-threatening way and makes people more receptive to new ideas. Clearly, this is important when you’re trying to change someone else’s behavior or raise awareness of an issue which has previously passed under their radar.

Before I head off, I thought I’d leave you with one last comment from Lower Crackpot on global warming:

Global Warming

 

Thursday Doors is hosted by Norm 2.0 at Thursday Doors.  Why don’t you come and join us and share a few of your favourite doors.

Best wishes,

Rowena

7 thoughts on “Road Kill Cafe…Thursday Doors.

  1. Junieper/Jesh stG

    I agree, serious issues are more easily digested with humor:):) It’s when we are so perturbed (I am guilty of that many times) that we can only express it with pointing the finger.I hear you – your message is effective:):)

  2. Rowena Post author

    Thank you, Junieper. I was concerned that it was too serious for Thursday Doors, but when I thought of changing it, that just didn’t feel right. That the message needed to get out there.
    Best wishes,
    Rowena

  3. Rowena Post author

    You’re welcome, Monika. I’m sure Sam and Elsa would love to set up a road kill cafe and stick a few squirrel recipes on the menu. Zac and Rosie have both been deemed underweight and so are back onto 50-50 puppy and adult food and lunch is back on the menu. Apparently, they’re so active they’ve been burning all the food off. The same can’t be said of Lady…or myself!
    Best wishes,
    Ro

  4. Norm 2.0

    I must be in need of more coffee today because it took a few minutes for the humour of Sam’n’Ella to register in my very slow brain. My oh my, it’s Friday and it has been a long week 😀

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.