Writing prompt #32: Summertime

Another day, another writing challenge beckons. This one comes from Uli at Confessions of A Broccoli Addict: https://wordpress.com/read/blog/id/28417405/

Writing Prompt: Write a story or poem that includes the following words:

  • summer,
  • ice cream,
  • bicycle,
  • dog,
  • waffle iron.

So pop on your favorite version of “Summertime” (mine’s by Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong) or another summer song, and get writing. Post your story/poem or link in the comments by June 22 to be included in the round up.

I’ll add my response in the comments and include it in the round up as well.

Riding my bicycle in my bikini,

liquid ice cream dreams

melt away.

Devoured

by the flapping tongue

of a thirsty dog

they disappear.

Evaporate.

It’s like they’ve never even been.

Oblivious to my ice cream woes,

the boy with the waffle iron

Find s love

In another’s arms.

Sometimes,

summer can be so cruel.

XX Rowena

PS It was tough trying to fit waffle iron into a poem!

2 thoughts on “Writing prompt #32: Summertime

  1. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, Monika. I am finding them interesting. I haven’t done them before but they remind me of when I belonged to the writers’ group at uni and it was all a bit of fun.
    I am actually quite intrigued by how little effort I put into these and yet was prepared to post them on my blog but they did feel finished. I have so much better material, which I’ve been working and reworking for years from before I started blonging, which has never seen the light of day. This is encouraging me to get back to it but finding the time is difficult and it’s hard to find the focus let alone stick with it,
    By the way, the kids hjave just taken both dogs for a walk. It’s much a cold morning by our standards and damp although it’s not raining. Perfect hibernation weather for me but I could see the house was becoming too small to contain their energy today xx Rowena

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.