Chocolate + Vegemite= ?

Rumoured as a hoax…a hoax almost as legendary as first reports of the duck-billed platypus, Cadbury has released its Vegemite-flavoured chocolate.

Cadbury made the announcement on Twitter, along with three other new flavour combinations: golden toffee, pretzel & peanut and salted caramel.This is part of its #ChocPlusWhat campaign, where it asks consumers what flavour combinations they would like to see.

Yet, although it’s called “Vegemite Chocolate”, the centre is actually filled with caramel but not the classic sort of caramel like you’d expect in say a Caramello. It’s almost like the texture of their Turkish Delight filling. Moreover, this caramel isn’t as sweet as a regular caramel and has been compared to salted caramel.

According to the ABC, Australian palates have grown more adventurous in recent years, with food mash-ups that would once be considered bizarre becoming ubiquitous — think the match-made-in-heaven that is salted caramel.http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-05-08/cadbury-chocolate-vegemite-combine-social-media-food-mash-up/6454050

Despite all that media hype, I can still hear you ask: “Vegemite and chocolate????”  in utter disgust, confusion and dismay. Isn’t anything sacred?!! Yes, indeed. We are a weird mob! You do have to wonder what someone or someones were thinking when they came up with the stuff. It really does seem like the ultimate April Fool’s Day prank. Yet, it’s real.

Ad for Vegemite.

Ad for Vegemite.

Vegemite is more than just a household name throughout Australia. First developed in 1922, it’s become part of our psyche. Generations of Aussie school kids have been brought up on the humble Vegemite sandwich, which according to the song, turned us all into “Happy Little Vegemites” www.youtube.com/watch?v=0yA98MujNeM.

The most famous Vegemite ad of all time produced in 1954.

The most famous Vegemite ad of all time produced in 1954.

I have heard of Vegemite and cheese, Vegemite and lettuce sandwiches and even adding Vegemite to dishes to give added flavour but I’ve never heard of anybody mixing Vegemite and chocolate together before.Not even my kids and they’ve made some weird concoctions in the kitchen when the patter of little feet suddenly went eerily quiet.

That said, while I was living in Heidelberg Germany after finishing university, I was attending a Church picnic where someone put a Tupperware container filled with Vegemite on the dessert table. I think it was initially a bit of a mix-up. However, one poor unsuspecting American kid who thought it was chocolate sauce, ate an entire tea spoon of the stuff straight. Now, most Americans I’ve seen try the stuff barely dab their finger in the Vegemite and they’re writhing in agony on the ground like yours truly eating chilli. So, you could well imagine the look on that poor kid’s face. It was priceless. The prank worked so well that he just had to try it out on his unsuspecting sister…Ha! She smeared the stuff all over her choc chip cookie and ate it. Needless to day, her brother was lucky to escape with his life.

You really do need to be, in effect, “desensitized” to like Vegemite. Or perhaps you just have to be Australian…tough as nails and as mad as a cut snake.

Anyway, I don’t know how the whole concept of Vegemite chocolate was first conceived or what crazy notions were stirring in someone’s dare I say “lateral” imagination. What were they thinking? It’s seems like they were playing a game of mis-matched pairs! Yes, we’ll mix the parrot with the hippopotamous.  That said, tit could well be the result of a committee decision. That said, these weird food “mash-ups” do seem to be all the rage.

Regardless, it’s not a bad marketing strategy because  Vegemite Chocolate is attracting quite a bit of interest. Posts from brave and intrepid taste testers are appearing on Facebook and not being one to be left out of the action, I had try it out. Indeed, this was an experience the whole family could enjoy.

Despite my background in market research, I didn’t develop questionnaires to record all our responses but I did have Geoff filming and I really did anticipate a few “yucks” “Err yucks” and total revulsion.I truly was expecting it to taste so bad that it became some kind of “survivor” challenge where men, women and children all earnt bragging rights “I’ve survived Vegemite Chocolate!’. Yes, iyou defintiely had to  earn the T-shirt!

Taste Testing Cadbury's Vegemite Chocolate.

Taste Testing Cadbury’s Vegemite Chocolate.

However, to the perfectly honest the chocolate was a bit of a let down, Even though I quite liked it., I was looking forward to tasting the Vegemite flavour in the chocolate but I couldn’t pick it at all. For me, this wasn’t Vegemite chocolate but something else. Miss says it was “yummy” and that it tasted like caramel. Both Geoff and Mister could detect the Vegemite flavour but they don’t touch the stuff!! You see, I’m quite heavy-handed with the amount of Vegemite I smear onto my Saos each nigh so I must have built up some kind of resilience!

This is how I love my Vegemite. No wonder I couldn't taste it in the chocolate.

This is how much I love my Vegemite. No wonder I couldn’t taste it in the chocolate.

Vegemite Chocolate. It was out of this world!

Vegemite Chocolate. It was out of this world!

Now, getting on to the question Cadbury posed about potential chocolate combinations. I guess I really should come up with something. Chocolate with potato chips? In the interests of combining health with chocolate, apple chocolate or indeed “Diet Coke Chocolate”. Yes, that’s the suggestion I’ll tweet through to them. I can see “Diet Coke Chocolate” being a winner! After all, how often do you see people drinking diet Coke with something utterly fattening like a greasy hamburger, KFC or chocolate.

Yes, Diet Coke Chocolate definitely has my vote!

Have you tried the Vegemite Chocolate? I’d love to know what you think. Also, could you please let me know if you spot it overseas.

Bon Appetite!

xx Rowena

23 thoughts on “Chocolate + Vegemite= ?

  1. merrildsmith

    I’ve never had Vegemite, so I have no idea what it tastes like or if it’s weird with chocolate. I like dark chocolate though. Chocolate covered potato chips are already “a thing,” here in the US. 🙂

  2. New Journey

    Hello, yes I have seen vegemite in specialty shops on the West Coast, I live north of San Francisco, I have also seen it in Cost Plus stores, I tried it while in Hawaii and did not care for the taste…probably not even in chocolate….

  3. roweeee Post author

    Oh my goodness, Merril! Chocolate covered potato chips did seem pretty out there when I threw that up as a suggestion, although they could actually taste quite good. That said, it does sound extremely unhealthy. I tend to buy nut chocolate but perhaps I’m really deceiving myself that the nuts provide some health content!!
    Vegemite seems to be something you have to be brought up on. It’s made from brewer’s yeast and is like Promite, Marmite etc in appearance. It’s often described as “axle grease”.
    Don’t ask me why I love it because I really do have quite a sweet tooth but I need my nightly dose. Yum! xx Rowena

  4. roweeee Post author

    Thanks for popping by. Vegemite is intriguing stuff and in some ways not unjlike tolerance of chilli. The more you have the more you can tolerate. As you can see from the photo, I spread huge smears of Vegemite on saos but have a very low tolerance of chilli and because I rarely eat it, it isn’t building up either.
    Have you tired Tim Tmas at all? They’re an Australian biscuit, which is absolutely divine. They’ve recently put out a coconut version, which I love. Tim Tams are way better than Vegemite, even though I love both xx Rowena

  5. merrildsmith

    I’ve never had Marmite or any of the others. I suppose you can find it somewhere in the US, but it’s certainly not something you’d find without really searching! Who knows? It could be the next big thing here. 🙂

    My daughter and I often have a piece of chocolate at night–the new favorite is dark chocolate salted caramel.

  6. roweeee Post author

    Yes, the Vegemite is definitely an acquired taste!! I like milk and dark. Sometimes, I find dark can be a bit rich and I don’t like the 70% cocoa varieties. My husband loves that. He and my son both hate Vegemite.

  7. roweeee Post author

    Cindy, I defintely think it’s worth trying, even for the novelty value.
    By the way, our local baker produces the hottest meat pies in the world. They’re so hot that you have to sign a waiver beforehand. It’s called the “Flaming Ron”, after it’s creator: http://www.bremenpies.net.au/the-flaming-ron.html I must write a post about that but there’s no way I’m going to try it!!

  8. roweeee Post author

    I certainly thought it’s worth trying and seeing how different family members and friends respond. It was a fun exercise.

  9. roweeee Post author

    It was really worth trying as a family taste test to see how different peoploe interpret the same flavour. There was quite a range of responses. I’ve been teaching the kids to cook for sometime, although our efforts seem to fall off the perch. They do seem to be making some kind of headway over all.

  10. roweeee Post author

    I backed off a little because I felt they were feeling a bit pushed but they’re still interested and can talk about food in quite a lot of detail. They seem to have quite a refined palate for kids and are quite fussy..which isn’t always good. Our poor dog put on quite a bit of weight for awhile there.
    By the waym I showed my brother and Dad your website tonight and your drawings and they really loved them. I wasn’t logged on so they’ll just show as views.

  11. roweeee Post author

    That’S funny you were just living up the road. We live at Umina Beach, which was just intended to be a stepping stone before moving back to Sydney but 14 years later, we are still here. The coast is certainly growing. I don’t mind the size tOo much but Sydney is getting unbearable with its congested traffic. It’s a carpark. Looking forward to seeing you back on your blog soon. It’S all such a complex balancing act though. We are trying to do some renovation at the movement now that I am pretty well. Got the first of the kitchen cupboards up today and put two old armchairs out beside the road and our dining room now feels like a room instead of a corridor. It’s been hard to find a spot to play my violin. It takes up quite a lot of space. Take care and thanks for reading my blog so regularly. Much appreciated xx ro

  12. roweeee Post author

    Out of curiosity, how are your kids fussy? One of the things I’d never considered was the texture of the food. A number of people I know don’t like. Mushroom as it is slimy. That surprised me. My dad is really fussy and won’t eat cinnamon, is sensitive to chilli and doesn’t eat icing or sweet things either. He has a very sharp sense of smell and I suspect he could be one of those super tasters who have extra taste buds. Perhaps he’s just weird lol xx RO

  13. roweeee Post author

    Too fresh here as well. Wet yesterday and cold and damp today but the kids have run off down the street walking the dogs. The house was getting too small so I’m pleased they spead their wings. Dogs are thrilled too!

  14. roweeee Post author

    My son is a bit spectrummy but could also just be a non-conformist as he doesn’t conform to the spectrum either. My daughter quite likes salads…something I’m getting used to. My husband’s family are vegetarian and his sister makes the best salads and has been educating me over the years and now they’re much more interesting.
    To be perfectly honest, although I’m a good cook, I am much beter at baking! xx Ro

Leave a Reply

