Like A Fish Needs A Bicycle…Friday Fictioneers

The train pulled into Heidelberg Hauptbahnhof. The knot in her stomach was now tied around her throat. She couldn’t breathe. Some huge, cosmic vacuum cleaner had sucked out all the air. There was nothing left. Anonymous, invisible, lost without being lost, her heart was churning like a clunky washing machine. Her mind was detergent. How could she fall in love now? With Europe at her feet, she needed a man like a fish needs a bicycle

“Mark, I’m in Heidelberg. I..I..I.”

Clunk. The coins devoured with gluttonous greed, he was gone.

Humph, turns out fish might need bicycles, after all!

……

This has been another contribution to Friday Fictioneers hosted by Rochelle Wishoff-Fields. This weeks photo prompt was kindly provided by © J Hardy Carroll. 

23 thoughts on “Like A Fish Needs A Bicycle…Friday Fictioneers

  1. Jane Dougherty

    That’s probably why I never phoned home. I remember it well, the noise of coins being swallowed. I hope she found a replacement—Europe was full of them 🙂

  2. Moon

    That’s such an intriguing title, Rowena. It inspired me to read up the History of the idiom. Thanks.
    I wish she finds an un-Mark man! 🙂
    Lovely story.

  3. Rowena Post author

    Thanks very much for that suggestion, Liz. I am intending to go through my flash fiction efforts to both compile them into something as they are, but also to look at what could become longer. There’s a local short story competition I’m in the process of entering.

  4. Rowena Post author

    It used to be around in the 1980s and 90s while I was at university here. BTW I check out the source of the quote as I’d thought it was Dorothy Parker and it turned out to be an Australian, Irina Dunn, who wrote it on the back of a toilet door at Sydney University (BTW that’s where I went and the toilet doors did have great graffiti. I photographed it once and will have to did up the photos.) Here’s a link: http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/414150.html
    xx Rowena

  5. subroto

    Looks like she needs freedom from Mark and those hungry phones. Nice one. I did like reading up about the history behind the phrase too.

  6. Pingback: Welcome to My Birthday Coffee Share 30th July, 2017. | beyondtheflow

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.