The Unmentionable Door…Thursday Doors.

Welcome to Another Thursday Doors.

This week, I’ve gone rogue and featured a toilet door.  Indeed, I’ve not only photographed a toilet door, but an ordinary toilet door at that.

Yesterday, I was out buying pointe shoes for our budding junior ballerina, when nature called. While gracing the throne, I spotted the keyhole and whipped out my camera, leaned across and did the deed.

keyhole

So, while I acknowledge that many around here take their doors rather seriously, I mean no disrespect. I simply fancy old-fashioned keyholes with their inherit mystery and magic. It doesn’t matter whether that keyhole is on a toilet door, or a door at Parliament House, they each evoke a sense of awe and wonder.

Anyway, perhaps I shouldn’t be apologizing for photographing a toilet door. While not as auspicious as the front door, the toilet door certainly bears good tidings for those in need, especially when you’re “busting” to use the lingo of Australian children’s author,  Andy Griffiths. This is particularly true when you’re out and about and might’ve had a few coffees or too many beers and everywhere’s shut. Then, you’ll praise the Lord (or anyone else) for any kind of toilet… door or no door.

 

Blue keyhole

Couldn’t help editing my keyhole bringing out what looked to me like a monk figure viewed from behind. Do you see it?

This is not the first time I’ve photographed a keyhole for Thursday Doors. Last year, in one of my earliest contributions, I photographed Government House, Parramatta in Western Sydney and included a close-up through the front door lock, which actually seems upside down.

DSC_0525

Unfortunately, the powers that be didn’t like someone sitting on the floor and photographing their precious keyhole. Indeed, having someone sitting on the floor was deemed uncouth, vulgar an affront. I don’t know if anyone has ever spoken to me in such a disrespectful way and I certainly defended myself , which roused further disdain. I was probably lucky not to be thrown out. Despite paying my entry fee, I was also told to  call up and “book in a photo shoot”. I suppose this is what comes with having a weird photographic device called a “camera”, and not using a camera that’s better known as a “phone”. I should probably mention that for those more accustomed to phone cameras, my zoom lens probably resembles a telescope. However, it’s not my fault that mere mortals have succumbed to inferior equipment. 

Front Door, Government House, Parramatta.

By the way, I should also mention that the reason I was sitting on the floor, was due to my muscle weakness and disability, while also seeking a particular perspective. 

Anyway, as you could imagine, I was mighty grateful when nobody caught me taking photos through the keyhole yesterday. Indeed, I might’ve had a “please explain”*.

This has been another contribution to Thursday Doors hosted by Norm 2.0. Why don’t you come and join us and share a few of your favourite doors. It’s a lot of fun and helps you see parts of the world you’ll never get to visit.

Best wishes,

Rowena

* While I’m no fan of One Nation  Party founder, Pauline Hanson, like many Australians I’ve adopted her iconic phrase: “Please explain”.

10 thoughts on “The Unmentionable Door…Thursday Doors.

  1. Jean Reinhardt

    It’s terrible when we let fear of what people might think stop us from taking an interesting shot, so well done for going ahead with the keyhole photo.

  2. tidalscribe

    My family claim I will be arrested one day for trying to take strange photos. Though I always hope using my phone and being a woman of a certain age makes me invisible. I am glad I am not the only one who takes pictures of toilets. If I go in a Ladies that is palatial or unusual I can’t resist snapping. Wetherspoons pubs have some wonderful examples.

  3. marianallen

    Hi! You and tidalscribe and I will have to form a PhotoJOHNic club or something. I take pictures of interesting restrooms. I love keyholes, too, especially those old … well … keyhole-shaped ones.

  4. tidalscribe

    That’s for sure. I went in one while we were away and everything was either black or a mirror, I was completely disorientated, but still managed to get a picture of my reflection!

  5. sustainabilitea

    I like the keyhole!! As for calling to book a photo shoot, give me a break! I’ve taken photos of the inside of a restroom, so I completely understand. Where would be we without them? 🙂

    janet

  6. Rowena Post author

    So true. They captivate me. I thought you’d enjoy a view through a different keyhole at Old Government House, Parramatta, Sydney. The powers at be there didn’t like me lying on the floor taking a photo through the keyhole with my professional looking zoom lens and I got into quite an argument. I do not tolerant these sorts of people very well and are just the types who should never have much contact with the public.
    Best wishes,
    Rowena

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.